2017 Fire/Fuel Mitigation Work Schedule


February 2014 -Clearing 405 feet of fence line.

by Ralph Cadwallader, Fire/Fuel Mitigation Crew Leader (rcadwallad@aol.com)

All Fire/Fuel Mitigation Crew Members:

We are all looking forward to 2017 as another great year for fire/fuel mitigation at Cheyenne Mountain State Park. This will be the fourth year for volunteers to have a crew dedicated to the CMSP fire/fuel mitigation effort.

The existing fire/fuel mitigation crew eagerly welcomes new recruits, and look forward to sharing the fun and satisfaction of making the park a safer place fire wise for us all to enjoy.
We typically meet at the Maintenance Facility at the “top of the park”. Mitigation Days will typically start at 8:30AM or 9:00AM, depending on time of year and weather. End times are scheduled typically at 2:30PM. The Fire/Fuel Mitigation schedule will be posted online at www.friendsofcmsp.org. A hard copy of the schedule may also be found at the CMSP Visitors Center. Being a member of the Fire/Fuel Mitigation crew, you will receive emails announcing upcoming work days requesting your confirmation if you will be able to attend.
On work days, please wear/bring long pants, sturdy work boots/shoes, gloves, eye protection, plenty of water and a snack or lunch. Depending on the weather, consider rain gear, sunscreen, insect repellant, a hat, and a jacket.

If you are interested in joining the Fire/Fuel Mitigation crew, please contact Senior Ranger Darcy Mount at darcy.mount@state.co.us.  The crew is always lead by trained experienced crew leaders.

                                           2017 Fire/Fuel Mitigation Schedule

March:
Wed. Mar 15 9:00-2:30
Tue. Mar 21 9:00-2:30
Thur. Mar 23 9:00-2:30
Sat. Mar 25 9:00-2:30
Tues. Mar 28 9:00-2:30
April:
Tues. Apr 11 8:30-2:30
Thur. Apr 13 8:30-2:30
Sat. Apr 22 8:30-2:30
Thur. Apr 27 8:30-2:30
May:
Wed. May 3 8:30-2:30
Tues. May 9 8:30-2:30
Tue. May 23 8:30-2:30
Fri. May 26 8:30-2:30
June:
No mitigation due to nesting birds
July:
No mitigation due to nesting birds
August:
Mon. Aug 14 8:30-2:30
Thur. Aug 17 8:30-2:30
Thur. Aug 24 8:30-2:30
Thur. Aug 31 8:30-2:30
September:
Sat. Sept 2 8:30-2:30
Thu. Sept 14 8:30-2:30
Sat. Sept. 23 8:30-2:30
October:
Tues. Oct 3 9:00-2:30
Tues. Oct 10 9:00-2:30
Wed. Oct 18 9:00-2:30
Thur. Oct 26 9:00-2:30
Mon. Oct 30 9:00-2:30

**Additional days may be scheduled depending on priorities and needs